www.MikeCross.com Mike Cross tuning his twelve-string

Music Samples
Listen to samples of Mike's music.
View a calendar of upcoming and recent concert dates.
Buy Mike's Music

High Powered, Low Flying (SH-CD-1011)
High Powered, Low Flying (SH-CD-1011)

Over the years, Sugar Hill singer/songwriter Mike Cross has proved that he is capable of just about anything. In the ten albums that this North Carolina native has recorded for the Sugar Hill label, Mike has developed and delivered his own savory blend of folk, blues, Celtic, rock and country - liberally laced with his wonderfully warped wit and sensitive insight. Well known for his songwriting prowess, Mike Cross became a radio legend when humorous classics like "Elma Turl" and "The Scotsman" received heavy airplay on rock n' roll stations across the country. Mike's latest release on the Sugar Hill label, HIGH POWERED, LOW FLYING, is fired by the same mischievous spirit and boisterous high-energy that flavored Mike's earlier albums.

Produced by Jerry Douglas, HIGH POWERED, LOW FLYING blends a tasty mix of hard-driving rockers, soulful blues numbers, lovely Celtic fiddle tunes, thoughtful ballads and homespun musical humor into one delectable, outrageous album. This release features 13 new Cross originals - including a few numbers, like "Riding With Me" and "Dead Willie Blues", that are already tremendously popular at Mike's live shows! Mike's terrific guitar and fiddling abilities are highlighted by performances from producer Jerry Douglas (dobro, lap steel) and mandolin favorite Sam Bush.

HIGH POWERED, LOW FLYING is a rollicking, non-stop rollercoaster ride of pure listening pleasure - made possible by the cunning, imagination and talent of singer/songwriter Mike Cross.

  1. Riding with Me (2:27)
  2. Red Tailed Hawk (3:42)
  3. Dead Willie Blues (2:34)
  4. Boll Weevil/Tuttle's Reel (4:03)
  5. Silver Harmonica (4:39)
  6. Do What You Do (3:21)
  7. T-Bird Blues (How in the World Did I Ever Get You?) (2:27)
  1. Time in Between (Patrick's Lullaby) (2:45)
  2. Mcfadden's Reel/Master Crowley's (2:15)
  3. Best Friend (2:00)
  4. Gamlin' Fever (2:16)
  5. Bad Blood (3:28)
  6. An Old Woman's Garden (3:50)